I’ve gone Paleo!

23 Jan

I’m sure you are asking what the hell is that? You are pale enough! (Haha I think I’m funny. I know I’m not, but it makes me chuckle)

The paleo diet is actually not a diet at all, it’s a lifestyle. But what it essentially is eating like our ancestors once did. No complex carbohydrates, no processed food, no legumes, no hormone filled animal products, and no alcohol (ok, I’m not sticking strictly to this part, a girl’s gotta live a little). 

Image

I’ve never been good at sticking to anything diets, but I am looking at this as just a genuine way to change my eating habits. I also know I am not perfect and am going to eat things that don’t adhere to paleo, and that’s ok too. My mom came to Austin this weekend for a visit, so we took the opportunity to stock my empty apartment with only paleo approved items. This includes things like coconut oil, olive oil, almond milk, grass-fed beef, organic fruits and veggies, lots and lots of nuts, dried fruit. All sorts of healthy (and more slightly expensive) items that will allow me to stay on track. I got a great book, called Everyday Paleo by Sarah Fragoso which has a great list of all the items you should stock up on. 

Then last night I made a recipe from the book, Pecan Crusted Chicken. Served with some sauteed spinach, it was the perfect meal.

Pecan Crusted Chicken

And since I am such a pinterest lover, here is my new Paleo board! Man, I just love that darn site!! 

Leave a Reply

